top of page

How Does Society Perceive Disability and Marriage?

I stumbled upon a new world where I was almost baffled at society's way of thinking when it comes to marriage. From a personal experience, it was an alarming observation of how people perceive hearing aids or Deafness in general.

How does society perceive Disability and Marriage? in big blog letters with a light grey background. Below are some images of a man with a prosthetic leg and a woman strolling through the garden. A woman in a wheelchair getting a bouquet from her partner. The third image Shows a man in a wheelchair carrying his daughter while his wife pushes his wheelchair.
How Does Society Perceive Disability and Marriage?

In my proposal, I declared that I am deaf, hearing aid, and cochlear user. Most people today believe that the term Deaf and disabled has a negative connotation and thus prefer the term Hearing impaired and special needs. But why is disabled and Deaf a bad word? It is something that I, today, proudly own and will use regardless of what you think.


In marriage, we are excluded, forgotten, judged, and they are doubtful if we can manage.

The more I pondered, the more I realized society must learn to be open-minded when it comes to disability. I have always noticed that whenever we, the deaf, or people living with disabilities, achieve something beyond our capability, we are placed on a pedestal, or society applauses and praises us. But when it comes to marriage, it is like, errr, can this disabled person do this?

We live in a world made for abled people, not having disabled people in mind.

Society thinks that disability is inherited or genetic. I think society needs to educate itself on which disabilities can be inherited or genetic. For instance, I am living proof that I come from a family without visible disabilities. I, a deaf girl, was born to a hearing couple and an extended family who did not have any indication that my parents would get a deaf child.


I do not think there is any difference when it comes between the older generation and the younger generation. It depends on their mindset/ awareness of people living with disabilities and education. However, I have observed the younger generation is more forthcoming and eager to learn while the older generation is more hesitant. The older generation goes on to shift the negative attitude toward their offspring.


Society has made up its mind that two deaf individuals would be more suited for each other, while others would say it is better if people with disabilities marry each other. Society views people with disabilities better marry a disabled person as they can understand each other better and form an understanding from common ground. My views on this exact topic are different from yours, however.


I have always noticed that people plop us down and tell their children what fabulous human beings we are. But in marriage, we are excluded, forgotten, judged, and they are doubtful if we can manage. All of our lives, we disabled people have been enduring and trying to survive in a world made for abled people, not having disabled people in mind.


I've always wondered why society judges us, especially when it comes to issues like these. What's the difference between applauding and praising someone with a disability and ignoring them?

 

Comments (1)

אורח
30 בדצמ׳ 2022

I was born profoundly Deaf and use cochlear implants. I'll definitely share this with my family and friends before I go to a gathering.

Subscribe to my Monthly Newsletter

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page